Belfast

Queen's University Belfast

Queen’s University Belfast

It’s been too long. So, I was thinking we could catch up, I could tell you all about my study abroad experience in Ireland and all of the exciting things I’ve been doing.

I was lucky enough to visit Belfast last weekend (or the weekend before…). There was good food and company, and lots of fascinating history. I’m sorry to say I did not take as many pictures as I normally do but as usual, I do have a lot to say.

We arrived in Belfast on a Friday evening, went to dinner and ended up at a pub called Robinson’s.  There was a bachelorette party going on there, as well as some live-music, and a poor girl who kept attempting to start a sing-a-long (stop trying to make fetch happen?!). Needless to say, that whole night was pretty entertaining.

Anywho, we went on a Black Taxi tour the next morning. I highly recommend doing one if you go to Belfast, you get to learn a lot about “the Troubles” in Northern Ireland from people that were in the midst of the conflict. Conflict in this area ended less than ten years ago, and everyone is still clearly dealing with the consequences. During the tour you get to see the Peace Walls, which are there to prevent conflict between two groups that really only live a few meters from each other.

We were also able to see Queens College that day, which is beautiful! At night there are cool lights, so I recommend seeing it then. We went to lunch at a cute café called Black Bear, and I had great mango-tango tea. It actually inspired my quest to discover/drink more tea (when in Ireland?).   We hung out at the Botanical Garden for a while since there was actual SUN and then spent a couple hours at the Ulster Museum. This museum is HUGE and also FREE so it was awesome.

Belfast is a little quieter than I expected for a capital city. However the people were lovely, the food was great, and the weather was a lot better than expected, so I definitely enjoyed my experience!

Thanks for reading and CHEERS! (not sure I’m using that in the right context but I’m still learning) 😉

A portion of murals in Belfast that display causes important to the community. This one was to welcome Syrian refugees

A portion of murals in Belfast that display causes important to the community. This one was to welcome Syrian refugees

You obviously can't tell from this picture, but this deer from the Ulster Museum was just really gigantic. It was called 'Giant Deer.' Now extinct. You're welcome.

You obviously can’t tell from this picture, but this deer from the Ulster Museum was just really gigantic. It was called ‘Giant Deer.’ Now extinct. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

