Spring Break Adventure Series: Vienna

 

Apple Strudel

Apple Strudel

I would apologize for my prolonged absence but I’ve just come back from 10 days gallivanting through Europe, and I can’t say I’m sorry. With that said, I’m very excited to share my adventures with all of you. I’ll start off with Vienna because it is the first place I went so I want to write about it before I forget (technically I am 19 but with consideration to my memory you can switch the two numbers).

Vienna in three words: elegant, green, and efficient (bare with me if the last doesn’t completely make sense). I spent two days there, but I managed to fit a lot into these meager 48 hours. My favorite place was Danube Island, a manmade island and amusement park. I didn’t actually ride anything, as it was catastrophically cold and rainy when I went, but I can tell the place would have been really fun!

But before I get into more of what I did, let’s talk about what I ate, because let’s be honest, what’s more important in life than food? went to the Café Central my first night and had apple strudel! It looked beautiful, and it was to die for. The restaurant itself is a work of art, but since I know nothing about architecture and interior design, I will just post a picture instead of trying to describe it to you.  I went to Vienna with no real itinerary, but the one thing I wanted to do was go to a concert café, which is exactly what it sounds like. When we went to Café Central, our meal was accompanied by live piano, and I understand that not everyone gets as excited as I do about this, but how many places can you still find this? Correction, at how many moderately priced restaurants that your average college student can afford can you still find this? Please enlighten me if there are more! (seriously)

My second night, I went to a restaurant called Siebensternbrau where I had the best wiener schnitzel the world has ever known. In case you’re wondering, I haven’t actually had much wiener schnitzel in my life, but I still stand by my previous statement.  This chicken had the same consistency as butter, but you know, it didn’t taste like it. Cause who wants to eat a stick of butter for dinner? Anywho… this is a good place to try if you’re interesting in some authentic Austrian cuisine!

For those of you that care about things besides food…we have nothing in common. I kid! For you here are my other reccomendations: the Schonbrunn palace and gardens. You could spend a whole day here, the garden is beautiful and it leads to the Vienna Zoo which, fun fact, is the oldest zoo in the world. Note: don’t be like me, please check the weather before you go.

Suggestion #2: You can also go to Kahlenberg Hill (personally I think it’s a little too tall to be classified as a hill but let’s save that conversation for another day). It provides really nice views of the city and there are cute little shops, a nice church etc. My favorite part however is before you get to the hill, – the historic town of Grinzing,  which is small and interesting and not technically in Vienna but close enough that its worth the trip! There are small stores, multiple little restaurants, and absolutely beautiful houses! It’s a good place to just walk through, take pictures if you please, have lunch, knock on someone’s door and ask if you can take a tour of their house, or you know, be a normal person…

My one regret during my trip to Vienna was not getting a chance to show off my Viennese waltzing skills which was really too bad because I feel I could have really impressed a lot of people. So if anyone ever has a ticket to one of those balls that they want to give away…

Ceiling of the Central Cafe

Ceiling of the Central Cafe

Being silly at Danube Island

Being silly at Danube Island

Wiener Schnitzel! So good the world stops

Wiener Schnitzel! So good the world stops

Schonbrunn Garden

Schonbrunn Garden

Disco ball

Disco ball

Another garden in Vienna whose name I don't remember

Another garden in Vienna whose name I don’t remember

 

Leave a Reply

